Thrifty Tuesday

I live in Arlington, Texas–home of many things, but not home to many decent thrift stores. If you are familiar with sub-par thrift stores, as I am, you probably know the struggle of finding something in good condition that has been priced way too high. You know the sort: Forever 21 dresses for a whopping $20, shoes from Target marked $10, or even worse, an entire section of items labeled “better clothing” and priced close to their original value.  

I went thrifting in Arlington today and found this to be my luck. But I am in need of chain and beads and I was determined to find them at a good price.

First up, I visited Thrift Town. They have one of those infamous “better clothing” sections and can be inconsistent with pricing. I found a few good options in the housewares aisle and the toys department:

2015-03-16 11.16.49

Housewares departments of thrift stores are full of knick-knacks. This could easily be taken apart for the seed beads

2015-03-16 11.17.18

A knick-knack with beads and reusable wire

2015-03-16 11.38.14

Bags of small toys like this would be perfect for crafting. They can be painted and used for magnets, necklace pendants, etc., and this bag was only $1.99.

2015-03-16 11.42.29

$8 for a necklace I’m going to take apart? No thank you!

I ultimately passed on buying anything here today. I guess I was too frustrated after visiting the jewelry section. Each item was priced between $5 and $15. Crazy, right? I don’t even pay that much for new jewelry unless it’s real silver or precious stone.

Next I visited Salvation Army, and here’s what I came away with:

IMG_7466

All of these were on sale. Total cost : $5.50

I can’t wait to tear them apart and experiment with the different pieces! Typically you can come away with a better deal than I got on these, but like I said, Arlington thrifting isn’t the best.

Leave a Reply

